What is the Ivy League?


The oldest and most famous universities in the United States are part of the so-called Ivy League.

The Ivy League - Association of 8 private universities in the US, located in seven northeastern states. For the first time the term was mentioned in 1933 during a football game between the universities of Columbia and Pennsylvania. As an alternative to watching a boring game, the commentator suggested transfer attention to how growing ivy. In continuation, the second commenter added that it would be good to create the Ivy League.

The widespread use of the term Ivy League has received in 1954 after the formation of the sport League of eight private universities. Later this name went beyond sporting events. To date, the Ivy League includes the most prestigious private universities in the US.

Which universities are part of the Ivy League?

  • University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
  • Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
    Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Yale University, New Haven, Connecticut
    Princeton University, Princeton, NJ
  • Columbia University, New York, NY
    Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire
    Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island

Education in the universities of the Ivy League will give you the necessary skills to write professional papers and CV and to work in the world's foremost companies.